Posted by: posthaiti | January 14, 2011

Just another day?

It’s been a while since I last posted. Life — more like a really time-consuming full-time job — got in the way, I guess. Moreover, I think I needed to leave Haiti be for a while.

However, yesterday was the one-year anniversary of the earthquake, and I wanted to point to a few newscasts that I think have done this day justice. First, there’s Democracy Now, which interviews among others Haitian activist Patrick Elie and Haitian-Canadian writer Jean Saint-Vil. The broadcast starts here, but it’s broken up into segments, so make sure you listen to the whole piece.

The gist of the report is that recovery and reconstruction haven’t really begun yet, and in order for the process to impart lasting change, Haitians need to rebuild Haiti, not foreigners and the “international community.” I totally agree. From what I saw of All Hands’ efforts in Leogane, they can’t move fast enough to transferring a lot of the actual dirty work (literally) over to Haitians. Haitians can and will lead their country into the future, they just need to stop being treated as dangerous and start being treated as assets (another awesome quote from the DN report). Amy Goodman is my hero.

The NYT and PBS’s Frontline had walloping doomsday pieces, but unfortunately, a lot of the grief, violence, and status quo they cover is fact.

I also commemorated Flo’s passing yesterday. And after turning the events of last January 12 over and over in my mind for the past 365 days, feeling what I needed to feel, confronting (as much as possible) what I felt I needed to confront, I have to believe that while the quake took, it also gave. I think the most important thing we can do for ourselves, the living, is seek to find what we have gained from this disaster.

Responses

  1. Not a day has passed since the earthquake without many manifestations of love and respect for Flo and his work both as an artist and as a fierce believer in the beauty and importance of Haiti and its people. Please help his work continue.


Leave a Reply

Categories

